Your browser is not supported, please upgrade to the newest version.

The love of music unites the young musicians in the university’s symphony orchestra. Several times a year, students in the Orchestral Instruments program form an orchestra, playing, for example, in front of a large audience at Düsseldorf’s Tonhalle symphony hall.

Innovation and tradition

Prof. Rüdiger Bohn has been artistic director of the orchestra since October 2005. His concerts combine traditional programming with innovative elements. Bohn studied in Cologne and Düsseldorf and won several international chamber music competitions as a pianist, before devoting himself exclusively to conducting. After master classes with, among others, Leonard Bernstein and positions at various theaters as a vocal coach and conductor, he has performed with important symphony orchestras at home and abroad. His repertoire ranges from Pre-Classic to Classical modern, with Bruckner's and Mahler's work featuring regularly in his programs. As the musical director of the Zeitgenössische Oper Berlin, founded in 1997, Rüdiger Bohn dedicated himself to the study of New Music, which has continued to shape his orchestral work to this day.

New Music

The university’s symphony orchestra works regularly with important contemporary composers, such as Toshio Hosokawa, Marco Stroppa, Youngi Pagh-Paan and Wolfgang Rihm. In addition, the university maintains close ties with the Musikfabrik in Cologne.

A concert featuring Campino


In addition to its concerts at the Tonhalle, the student orchestra also participates in the university’s own opera productions, which take place annually at the university in cooperation with the Deutsche Oper am Rhein.

On the initiative of Prof. Thomas Leander, in the fall of 2013 the symphony orchestra performed with the well-known Düsseldorf pop group “Die Toten Hosen.” The musicians presented works by composers who were persecuted by the National Socialists as part of a concert program entitled “Willkommen in Deutschland.” The concerts were very well received all across Germany.

A video on the performance with Die Toten Hosen:

Robert Schumann Hochschule Düsseldorf Fischerstraße 110, 40476 Düsseldorf
Fon: +49.211.49 18 -0 Fax: +49.211.49 11 6 18 www.rsh-duesseldorf.de

Your browser is not supported, please upgrade to the newest version.
Das Hochschulorchester spielt zweimal im Jahr in der Tonhalle Düsseldorf, Foto: S. Diesner

Orchester

Die Liebe zur Musik vereint die jungen Musikerinnen und Musiker des Sinfonieorchesters der Hochschule. Mindestens zwei Mal im Jahr, im Sommersemester und im Wintersemester, formieren sich die Studierenden der Orchesterinstrumente zu einem großen Klangkörper, um in der Tonhalle Düsseldorf ihr Können einem breiten Publikum zu zeigen.

Innovation und Tradition

Seit Oktober 2005 ist Prof. Rüdiger Bohn der künstlerische Leiter des Orchesters. Er verbindet in seinen Konzerten traditionelle Angebote und innovative Elemente. Bohn studierte in Köln und Düsseldorf und gewann als Pianist mehrere internationale Kammermusikwettbewerbe, bevor er sich ausschließlich dem Dirigieren widmete. Nach Meisterkursen u.a. bei Leonhard Bernstein und verschiedenen Theaterstationen als Repetitor und Kapellmeister musizierte er mit bedeutenden Sinfonieorchestern im In-und Ausland. Sein Repertoire reicht von Werken der Frühklassik bis zur klassischen Moderne, wobei das Schaffen Bruckners und Mahlers immer wieder einen Schwerpunkt bildet. Als musikalischer Leiter der 1997 gegründeten Zeitgenössischen Oper Berlin vertiefte Rüdiger Bohn sein Interesse für zeitgenössische Musik, das seine Orchesterarbeit bis heute prägt.

Zeitgenössische Musik

Das Sinfonieorchester der Hochschule arbeitet regelmäßig mit bedeutenden zeitgenössischen Komponisten zusammen, zum Beispiel mit Toshio Hosokawa, Marco Stroppa, Youngi Pagh-Paan oder Wolfgang Rihm. Zudem pflegt die Hochschule einen engen Kontakt zur Musikfabrik in Köln.

Auftritt mit Campino

Neben den beiden großen Konzerten in der Tonhalle wirkt der studentische Klangkörper auch bei den Opernaufführungen der Hochschule mit, die jährlich in Kooperation mit der Deutschen Oper am Rhein in der der Hochschule stattfinden. Auf Initiative von Prof. Thomas Leander trat das Sinfonieorchester im Herbst 2013 gemeinsam mit der Düsseldorfer Popgruppe „Die Toten Hosen“ auf. Unter dem Titel „Willkommen in Deutschland“ präsentierten die Musiker Werke von Komponisten, die von den Nationalsozialisten verfolgt wurden. Die Konzerte fanden bundesweit eine sehr große Resonanz. 

Ein Video zum Aufritt mit Die toten Hosen:

 

 

Robert Schumann Hochschule Düsseldorf Fischerstraße 110, 40476 Düsseldorf
Fon: +49.211.49 18 -0 Fax: +49.211.49 11 6 18 www.rsh-duesseldorf.de