Your browser is not supported, please upgrade to the newest version.

Institute of Church Music

The image of the church music profession has changed substantially. Pedagogical skills are becoming more and more important. For this reason, the interrelated modular structure of the bachelor’s program in Church Music is designed to combine high artistic qualifications with instruction reflecting current practices.

The Institute of Church Music has its own library, a large number of teaching and rehearsal rooms with appropriate instruments and a student residence. The Institute maintains close contact with potential employers of graduates, the specialized committees of the Archdiocese of Cologne and the Diocese of Essen, as well as the Protestant state church in the Rhineland.

What programs of studies are there and what degrees can be obtained?
Through the Institute of Church Music at the Robert Schumann Hochschule Düsseldorf offers bachelor’s and master’s programs in accordance with the professional programs in Protestant and Catholic church music which lead to a Bachelor of Music (normal duration of studies 8 semesters) or a Master of Music (normal duration of studies 4 semesters). The extensive offering of the university includes a wide range of programs in church music in, among others, Organ (BM/MA/Music Performance) and Choral Conducting (BM/MA).

How many students are there and how many instructors teach them?
In the summer semester of 2018 there were 22 young musicians (8 Lutheran/14 Catholic) studying Church Music and 5 enrolled in Organ Performance. Classes in the core performance subjects of organ literature/liturgical organ playing are taught by 4 teachers (2 professorships). There are currently 6 teachers working in the areas of choral conducting/orchestral conducting/directing chant singing (3 professorships).

The church-specific subjects of the program are taught by sessional lecturers, who are usually church professionals. All other areas of the program are taught by cross-major teachers on the staff of the university, among others teachers from the Institute of Composition and Music Theory and the Institute of Musicology.

What are the specialized aspects of the study program?
In a closely networked program structure, the university attaches great importance to ensuring that training is oriented to later professional practice, and removes individual subject matter from its isolation and places it in a holistic context. Thus, for example, the contents of popular music are connected in a natural way with the contents of the instruction in the subjects organ performance or choral conducting. This is also reflected in the performance projects of the institute. It is notable that an endowed professorship for choral pedagogy was established by the Archdiocese of Cologne to support training at the Institute of Church Music. Attractive elective coursework during the program of study is made possible by cooperation with the Music Pedagogy Department, the Institute of Music and Media and other areas of the University.

The master's program can be studied in three areas of focus, which nevertheless reflect the entire spectrum of study in church music with different contextual weighting: Focus on instrumental, vocal/ensemble or promotion/outreach of church music.

What role does ecumenism play in the program?
At the Institute of Church Music students of different denominations are mainly taught together. In a few areas there are denomination-specific requirements which are then taught separately. However, students are beginning to show a greater interest in attending courses outside their own religious confession. Here and in the joint celebration of the church services ecumenism as an active daily practice can be felt within the institute.

What facilities are available?
The Institute of Church Music has its own institute building with an attached student residence operated by the Protestant church, and an integrated building for rehearsing/practicing. This makes outstanding infrastructure available for teaching as well as self-study.

What instruments does the university have?
The following instruments are currently available for instrumental instruction or exams in the organ major in cooperation with the churches: The Karl Schuke organ of the Melanchthon church in the institute building (IV/ped./50 stops), the Göckel organ in St. Peter (III/ped./57 stops), the Rieger organ in St. Margareta (III/Ped./40). In addition, the University has access to instruments by the organ builders Albiez (III/Ped), Grenzing (II/Ped), Beckerath (II/Ped), Mayer (2 new instruments III/Ped), two historically significant instruments (South German Baroque organ/Italian Renaissance organ) as well as a whole number of other smaller instruments for various purposes. A large concert and instruction organ being newly constructed by the Rieger organ building company is being planned with completion expected for the summer semester of 2019. In addition, if required, the university's extensive range of instruments is available.

Which ensembles exist?
Ensembles include the chamber choir of the Institute of Church Music, the oratorio choir of the university with an annual oratorio project in the winter semester, the university’s professional vocal ensemble, the university choir, the university orchestra, the opera ensemble and several chamber music ensembles. In addition, there is close cooperation with the amateur choirs of the Düsseldorf region (children's, youth and adult choirs) as well as with the Essen and Würzburg cathedral musicians.    

Robert Schumann Hochschule Düsseldorf Fischerstraße 110, 40476 Düsseldorf
Fon: +49.211.49 18 -0 Fax: +49.211.49 11 6 18 www.rsh-duesseldorf.de

Your browser is not supported, please upgrade to the newest version.
Jedes Jahr veranstaltet das Institut ein Chorkonzert in der Düsseldorfer Friedenskirche. Es dirigiert Prof. Timo Nuoranne. Foto: S. Diesner

Institut für Kirchenmusik

Das Berufsbild des Kirchenmusikers bzw. Kirchenmusikerin hat sich stark gewandelt. Pädagogische Kompetenzen werden immer wichtiger. Deshalb zielt die vernetzte Modulstruktur des Bachelorstudiengangs Kirchenmusik darauf ab, eine hohe künstlerische Qualifikation mit praxisbezogenen Unterrichtsinhalten zu verbinden.

Das Institut für Kirchenmusik verfügt über eine eigene Fachbibliothek, eine große Anzahl von Unterrichts- und Überäumen mit entsprechenden Instrumenten und ein Studierendenheim. Es steht in engem Kontakt zu den späteren Arbeitgebern der Studierenden, den Fachgremien des Erzbistums Köln, des Bistums Essen sowie der evangelischen Landeskirche im Rheinland.

Welche Ausbildungsgänge gibt es, welche Abschlüsse werden erreicht?
Die Robert Schumann Hochschule bietet durch ihr Institut für Kirchenmusik Bachelor- und Masterstudiengänge an, die in den berufsqualifizierenden Studienrichtungen der evangelischen bzw. katholischen Kirchenmusik mit einem „Bachelor of Music“ (Regelstudiendauer 8 Semester) bzw. mit einem „Master of Music“ (Regelstudiendauer 4 Semester) abgeschlossen werden. Im reichhaltigen Studienangebot der Hochschule gibt es eine ganze Reihe von weiterführenden Studienangeboten für Kirchenmusiker und Kirchenmusikerinnen, u.a. in den Studienrichtungen Orgel (BM/MA/Konzertexamen) sowie Chorleitung (BM/MA).

Wie viele Studenten studieren, wie viele Dozenten unterrichten hier?
Im Wintersemester 2011/12 studierten am Institut für Kirchenmusik 29 junge Musiker und Musikerinnen (16 evang./13 kath.), in den künstlerischen Orgelklassen 7. Der Unterricht in den künstlerischen Kernfächern Orgelliteraturspiel/Liturgisches Orgelspiel wird von 6 Lehrkräften (2 Professuren) erteilt. In den Bereichen Chorleitung/Orchesterleitung/Scholaleitung sind zurzeit 6 Lehrkräfte tätig (3 Professuren).

Die kirchenspezifischen Fächer der Ausbildung werden von Lehrbeauftragten unterrichtet, die in der Regel in der kirchlichen Berufspraxis stehen. Alle weiteren Bereiche des Studiums werden studienrichtungsübergreifend durch die Lehrkräfte der Hochschule unterrichtet, unter anderem durch die Lehrkräfte des Institutes für Komposition und Musiktheorie wie auch des Institutes für Musikwissenschaft.

Was ist das besondere inhaltliche Profil?
In einer inhaltlich eng vernetzten Studienstruktur legt die Hochschule großen Wert darauf, eine an der späteren Berufspraxis orientierte Ausbildung zu gewährleisten, die die einzelnen Fachinhalte aus ihrer Isolation heraushebt und in einen ganzheitlichen Kontext stellt. So gehören beispielsweise die Inhalte der Popularmusik in ganz natürlicher Weise zu den Studieninhalten des Unterrichtes in den Fächern Orgelspiel oder Chorleitung. Dies findet auch in den künstlerischen Projekten des Institutes seinen Niederschlag. Bemerkenswert ist die eigens eingerichtete Stiftungsprofessur für Chorpädagogik durch das Erzbistums Köln zur Unterstützung der Ausbildung am Institut für Kirchenmusik. In den Wahlmöglichkeiten des Studiums gibt es interessante Angebote in Kooperation mit der Abteilung für Musikpädagogik, dem Institut Fuer Musik Und Medien und anderen Bereichen der Hochschule.

Im Masterstudiengang kann in drei Schwerpunktsetzungen studiert werden, die in einer unterschiedlichen inhaltlichen Gewichtung dennoch das gesamte Studienspektrum der Kirchenmusik abbilden: Schwerpunktsetzung instrumental, vokal/Ensemble oder Kirchenmusikvermittlung.

Welche Rolle spielt bei Ihnen die Ökumene?
Am Institut für Kirchenmusik werden die konfessionsverschiedenen Studierenden größtenteils gemeinsam unterrichtet. In einigen wenigen Studieninhalten gibt es konfessionsverschiedene Anforderungen, die dann auch entsprechend getrennt unterrichtet werden. In der Wahrnehmung dieser Unterrichte zeichnet sich aber ein Fluss ab, der die Studierenden durch ein wachsendes Interesse auch in konfessionsverschiedene Lehrveranstaltungen führt. Hierin und in der gemeinsamen Feier des Gottesdienstes wird gelebte Ökumene im Institut spürbar.

Welche Räumlichkeiten stehen zur Verfügung?
Das Institut für Kirchenmusik hat ein eigenes Institutsgebäude mit einem angehängten Studierendenwohnheim in Trägerschaft der evangelischen Landeskirche und einem integrierten Übehaus. Hier stehen dem Lehrbetrieb wie auch dem Selbststudium hervorragende Räumlichkeiten zur Verfügung.

Über welches Instrumentarium verfügt die Hochschule?
Dem Instrumentalunterricht bzw. den Prüfungen im Fach Orgel stehen zurzeit in Kooperation mit den Kirchen folgende Instrumente zur Verfügung: Karl-Schuke-Orgel der Melanchthonkirche am Institutsgebäude (IV/Ped./50 Reg.), Göckel-Orgel in St. Peter (III/Ped./57 Reg.), Rieger-Orgel in St. Margareta (III/Ped./40). Darüber hinaus verfügt die Hochschule über Instrumente der Orgelbaufirmen Albiez (III/Ped), Grenzing (II/Ped), Beckerath (II/Ped), Mayer (2 neue Übeinstrumente III/Ped), zwei historisch bemerkenswerte Instrumente (süddeutsche Barock-Orgel/italienische Renaissance-Orgel) sowie eine ganze Anzahl weiterer kleinerer Instrumente zu diversen Übezwecken. Der Neubau einer großen Konzert- und Unterrichtsorgel durch die Hochschule ist in der Planung. Darüber hinaus steht bei Bedarf das reichhaltige Instrumentarium der Hochschule zur Verfügung. 

Welche Ensembles existieren?
Es gibt den Kammerchor des Institutes für Kirchenmusik, den Oratorienchor der Hochschule mit einem jährlich im WS stattfindendes Oratorienprojekt, ein professionelles Vokalensemble der Hochschule, den Hochschulchor, das Hochschulorchester, das Opernensemble und mehrere Kammermusikensembles. In der Ausbildung bestehen zusätzlich enge Kooperationen mit den Laienchören der Region Düsseldorf (Kinder-, Jugend-, Erwachsenenchöre) sowie mit der Essener und Würzburger Dommusik.   

Robert Schumann Hochschule Düsseldorf Fischerstraße 110, 40476 Düsseldorf
Fon: +49.211.49 18 -0 Fax: +49.211.49 11 6 18 www.rsh-duesseldorf.de