Your browser is not supported, please upgrade to the newest version.

Artistic Music Production (master’s)

The master’s program in Artistic Music Production is offered by the Institute of Music and Media (IMM).

This degree program includes the following two majors:

     Classical Acoustic Music Production
     Jazz and Pop Music Production


Admission to the program is for one of these two majors. The prerequisite is successful completion of the proficiency test for the concentration chosen.

The master’s program in Artistic Music Production aims at deepening and perfecting the ability to carry out artistically independent and methodically well thought out professional work in the field of artistic music production. In the course of their four-semester program, the students refine their sound aesthetics and thus acquire the ability, in dialogue with musicians or ensembles, to adequately implement artistic-musical ideas by various means. This goal is also reflected in the structure of the program, which is based on three complementary and interrelated strands:

1. The focus is on practical production work: In the course of their studies, students carry out a large number of smaller and more extensive music productions in their particular specialization. This covers the entire range of relevant genres (from chamber music to opera or from rock/pop combos to big bands) and formats (studio recording, live recording, surround recording, audio-video production).

However, the skills of the students are deliberately not restricted to their chosen field of study, whether Artistic Acoustic Music Production or Jazz and Pop Music Production. Joint productions by students from both concentrations, as well as independent productions from the non-major field of specialization are planned.
The largely independent production work is accompanied by a support colloquium, in which methodological aspects are explored and implemented and/or in-process productions are analyzed and discussed.

2. This area of study is complemented by in-depth training on an instrument or voice studies. In addition to individual instrument or voice instruction, programs in both majors also include work on ensemble performance. On the one hand, this area of study extends the artistic and aesthetic autonomy of the students. On the other hand, it also complements their artistic production work, because the artistic empathy necessary for this work arises not least from personal experience performing music at a high artistic level.

3. Finally, a third focus of the program of study is devoted to teaching and extending the ability of students in technical methodology and musical analysis. Among other topics, students explore the most recent methods of music production, reflect on their possible uses and apply them in their own practice. In addition, they acquire and extend their ability to classify musical works (including those of the other main concentration) historically and aesthetically, and to work out the resulting consequences for production work.

Special focus is given to aural skills in music. Also known as “ear training,” aural skills focus not only on grasping the formal structure of works of music, but especially on analyzing, discussing and evaluating the interpretations of repertoire in production work. Acoustics and technical ear training are also of key importance.

Detailed information about the sequence and contents of the program is available in the module overview for the master’s program in Artistic Music Production.

Full-time instructors


Major: Classical Acoustic Music Production: Prof. Dagmar Birwe
Major: Jazz/Pop Music Production: Prof. Werner Roth

Proficiency test

In both majors, the proficiency test for the master’s program in Artistic Music Production involves the evaluation of work samples to be submitted in advance as well as completion of an instrumental/vocal audition. In addition, there is a practical task in the intended major as well as written examinations of musical and technical hearing ability: Requirements for the Artistic Music Production master’s program.


Proficiency in German

International applicants must possess adequate German language skills. The B2 certificate (according to the Goethe Institute classification system) or a comparable qualification is required. This also applies to direct enrollment in a higher semester.

Commencement of studies and application deadlines

In the Artistic Music Production master’s program, studies can commence in the winter or the summer semester. The application deadline is March 1. The date-of-receipt stamp of the university applies.


Applying


The completed application form and supporting documents should be sent to the following address:

The Robert Schumann Hochschule Düsseldorf
Registrar’s Office
Fischerstraße 110
40476 Düsseldorf, Germany

The individual documents that must be submitted are listed on the application form.

Further Information


Questions about the academic program will be answered by subject tutors and the Registrar’s Office.

Robert Schumann Hochschule Düsseldorf Fischerstraße 110, 40476 Düsseldorf
Fon: +49.211.49 18 -0 Fax: +49.211.49 11 6 18 www.rsh-duesseldorf.de

Your browser is not supported, please upgrade to the newest version.

Künstlerische Musikproduktion (Master)

Der Master-Studiengang Künstlerische Musikproduktion wird vom Institut für Musik und Medien angeboten.

Er umfasst die folgenden beiden Studienschwerpunkte:

     Klassische akustische Musikproduktion
     Jazz- und Popularmusikproduktion

Die Zulassung zum Studium erfolgt für einen dieser beiden Studienschwerpunkte. Voraussetzung ist die erfolgreich bestandene Eignungsprüfung für den betreffenden Schwerpunkt.

Der Master-Studiengang Künstlerische Musikproduktion zielt darauf ab, die Fähigkeit zu künstlerisch-selbständigem und methodisch reflektiertem professionellen Arbeiten im Bereich der künstlerischen Musikproduktion zu vertiefen und zu perfektionieren. Im Verlauf ihres viersemestrigen Studiums sollen die Studierenden ihre eigenständige Klangästhetik verfeinern und dadurch in der Lage sein, künstlerisch-musikalische Vorstellungen im Dialog mit Musikern bzw. Ensembles mit verschiedenen Mitteln adäquat umzusetzen. Diese Zielrichtung schlägt sich auch im Aufbau des Studiums nieder, der auf drei einander ergänzenden und aufeinander bezogenen Strängen basiert:

1. Im Mittelpunkt steht die praktische Produktionsarbeit: Im Verlaufe des Studiums realisieren die Studierenden eine Vielzahl kleinerer und umfangreicherer Musikproduktionen in ihrem jeweiligen Studienschwerpunkt. Hierbei wird die gesamte Bandbreite relevanter Genres (von der Kammermusik bis zur Oper bzw. von der Rock-/Pop-Combo bis zur Big Band) und Formate (Studioaufnahme, Livemitschnitt, Surroundaufnahme, Audio-Video-Produktion) abgedeckt.

Die Kompetenzen der Studierenden sollen aber bewusst nicht auf ihren jeweiligen Studienschwerpunkt Künstlerisch akustische Musikproduktion bzw. Jazz- und Popularmusikproduktion beschränkt bleiben –vorgesehen sind auch gemeinsame Produktionen von Studierenden beider Schwerpunkte sowie die selbständige Erarbeitung von Produktionen aus dem Bereich des jeweils anderen Schwerpunkts.
Begleitet wird die weitgehend eigenständige Produktionsarbeit durch ein Betreuungskolloquium, in dem methodische Aspekte vertieft und realisierte bzw. in Arbeit befindliche Produktionen analysiert und diskutiert werden.

2. Flankiert wird dieser Bereich des Studiums durch eine vertiefende Ausbildung im Bereich Instrument / Gesang. Sie beinhaltet in beiden Studienschwerpunkten neben dem künstlerischen Einzelunterricht jeweils auch die künstlerische Arbeit im Ensemble. Dieser Bereich des Studiums erweitert zum einen die künstlerisch-ästhetische Eigenständigkeit der Studierenden. Zum anderen ergänzt er auch die künstlerische Produktionsarbeit, da das hierfür notwendige künstlerische Einfühlungsvermögen nicht zuletzt aus der eigenen Erfahrung als auf hohem Niveau praktizierende/r Musiker/in erwächst.

3. Ein dritter Bereich des Studiums schließlich ist der Vermittlung bzw. Vertiefung methodisch-technischer und musikalisch-analytischer Kompetenzen gewidmet. Die Studierenden lernen hier z.B. aktuelle Methoden der Musikproduktion zu verstehen, in ihren Verwendungsmöglichkeiten zu reflektieren und selbst praktisch anzuwenden. Zudem erwerben und vertiefen sie die Kompetenz, musikalische Werke (und zwar auch solche des jeweils anderen Studienschwerpunkts) historisch-ästhetisch einzuordnen und die daraus resultierenden Konsequenzen für die Produktionsarbeit abzuleiten.

Besonders im Fokus steht der Aspekt der musikalischen Gehörbildung. Hier wird die Fähigkeit geschult, hörend nicht nur die Struktur musikalischer Werke zu erfassen, sondern vor allem auch ihre jeweils vorliegenden Interpretationen zu analysieren, zu diskutieren und zu bewerten. Methoden der Raumakustik und technischen Gehörbildung sind ebenfalls von großer Bedeutung.

Detaillierte Informationen zum Verlauf und zu den Inhalten des Studiums finden sich im Modulplan und den Modulbeschreibungen zum Master Künstlerische Musikproduktion.

Hauptamtlich Lehrende

Studienschwerpunkt Klassische akustische MusikproduktionProf. Dagmar Birwe
Studienschwerpunkt Jazz- / PopularmusikproduktionProf. Werner Roth

Eignungsprüfung

Die Eignungsprüfung für den Master-Studiengang Künstlerische Musikproduktion besteht in beiden Studienschwerpunkten aus der Bewertung vorab einzureichender Arbeitsproben sowie einer künstlerischen Präsentation im Instrumentalfach / Gesang. Hinzu kommt eine praktische Aufgabe aus dem Bereich des angestrebten Studienschwerpunkts sowie schriftliche Prüfungen der musikalischen und technischen Hörfähigkeit: Anforderungen Master Künstlerische Musikproduktion.

Deutschkenntnisse

Ausländische Bewerberinnen und Bewerber müssen über ausreichende Deutschkenntnisse verfügen. Nachgewiesen werden muss das Zertifikat B2 (nach Goethe-Institut) oder ein vergleichbarer Abschluss. Dies gilt auch für die Einschreibung in ein höheres Semester.

Studienbeginn und Bewerbungsfristen

Der Studienbeginn im Master Künstlerische Musikproduktion ist nur im Wintersemester möglich. Bewerbungsschluss ist der 15. März. Es gilt der Eingangsstempel der Hochschule.


Bewerben

Die Bewerbungsunterlagen und das ausgefüllte Anmeldeformular werden an folgende Adresse geschickt:

Robert Schumann Hochschule Düsseldorf
Studierendensekretariat
Fischerstraße 110
40476 Düsseldorf

Welche Unterlagen im Einzelnen einzureichen sind, steht auf dem Anmeldeformular.

Weitere Informationen

Weitergehende Fragen zum Master-Studiengang Künstlerische Musikproduktion und seinen Studienschwerpunkten beantworten Prof. Dagmar Birwe und Prof. Werner Roth.

Allgemeine Fragen zum Studium an der Robert Schumann Hochschule beantworten die Fachtutoren und das Studierendensekretariat

Robert Schumann Hochschule Düsseldorf Fischerstraße 110, 40476 Düsseldorf
Fon: +49.211.49 18 -0 Fax: +49.211.49 11 6 18 www.rsh-duesseldorf.de