Your browser is not supported, please upgrade to the newest version.

Orchestral Instruments (master’s)

Orchestral Instruments students in the Music Performance program are prepared for a career as professional orchestral or chamber musicians. The program of study includes the (Instrumental) majors of Bassoon, Horn, Clarinet, Oboe, Flute, Saxophone, Trumpet, Trombone, Tuba, Viola, Violin, Cello, String Bass, Harp and Percussion.

Successful graduates from the bachelor's program can continue with a four-semester master’s program in Orchestral Instruments. Here too, the main focus is on instruction in the performance major. In addition to this, three areas of focus are available for selection: Orchestra, Chamber Music, and Music Promotion. As is the case in the bachelor’s program, the master’s program also offers a wide range of elective courses allowing students to further develop and extend their artistic abilities.

Detailed information about the sequence and contents of the program can be found in the Orchestral Instruments (master’s) module overview.

Students who study Orchestral Instruments in Düsseldorf benefit from a variety of performance opportunities both inside and outside the university. For example instrumentalists regularly appear in concert and recital series at the Haus der Universität or the Robert-Schumann-Saal.

The University Symphony Orchestra performs once a year at the Düsseldorf Tonhalle and takes part in productions of the opera class on campus in collaboration with the Deutsche Oper am Rhein. Finally, each semester a special chamber music event and “New Music Marathon Night” offers university ensembles the opportunity to show off their artistry.

Students can take part in the Sieghardt Rometsch Competition, which takes place every year in the solo and chamber music categories. In addition, the Robert Schumann Hochschule Düsseldorf also hosts the annual International Aeolus Competition for woodwind and brass instrumentalists.

Instructors

Bassoon: Prof. Gustavo Nunez
Clarinet: Prof. Andreas Langenbuch
Oboe: Ralph van Daal
Flute: Prof. Michael FaustProf. André SebaldProf. Evelin Degen
Trombone: Matthias Gromer 
Trumpet: Prof. Peter Mönkediek
Saxophone: Martin Hilner
Horn: Prof. Joachim Poeltl
Tuba: Prof. Hans Nickel
Viola: Prof. Barbara Buntrock
Violin: Prof. Andrej BielowProf. Andreas KrecherProf. Yamei Yu
Cello: Prof. Gregor HorschProf. Pieter Wispelwey
String Bass: Prof. Rick Stotijn
Harp: Fabiana Trani
Percussion: Prof. Bert Flas

Proficiency test

Candidates for the Orchestral Instruments master’s program must complete a proficiency test.

It consists of a music performance audition. Requirements for the various instruments are specified here:

Bassoon: M. Mus.
Horn:  M. Mus.
Clarinet: M. Mus.
Oboe: M. Mus.
Trombone: M. Mus.
Flute: M. Mus.
Saxophoen: M. Mus.
Trumpet: M. Mus.
Tuba: M. Mus.
Viola: M. Mus.
Violin: M. Mus.
Cello: M. Mus.
Double String: M. Mus.
Harp: M. Mus.
Percussion: M. Mus.

Proficiency in German

International applicants must possess adequate German language skills. The B2 certificate (according to the Goethe Institute classification system) or a comparable qualification is required. This also applies to direct enrollment in a higher semester.

Commencement of studies and application deadlines


In the Choral Conducting master’s program, studies can commence in the winter or the summer semester. The application deadline is March 1 (for studies commencing in the winter semester) and October 31 (for studies commencing in the summer semester). The date-of-receipt stamp of the university applies.

Applying

The completed application form and supporting documents should be sent to the following address:

The Robert Schumann Hochschule Düsseldorf
Registrar’s Office
Fischerstraße 110
40476 Düsseldorf, Germany

The individual documents that must be submitted are listed on the application form.

Further information

Questions about the academic program will be answered by subject tutors and the Registrar’s Office.

Robert Schumann Hochschule Düsseldorf Fischerstraße 110, 40476 Düsseldorf
Fon: +49.211.49 18 -0 Fax: +49.211.49 11 6 18 www.rsh-duesseldorf.de

Your browser is not supported, please upgrade to the newest version.

Orchesterinstrumente (Master)

Orchesterinstrumente ist eine Studienrichtung im Studiengang Musik und bereitet auf eine Laufbahn als professioneller Orchestermusiker oder Kammermusiker vor. Die Studienrichtung umfasst die Fächer (Instrumente) Fagott, Horn, Klarinette, Oboe, Querflöte, Saxophon, Trompete, Posaune, Tuba, Viola, Violine, Violoncello, Kontrabass, Harfe und Schlagzeug.

Dem erfolgreichen Bachelor-Abschluss kann sich ein viersemestriges Studium im Master Orchesterinstrumente anschließen. Der Schwerpunkt liegt auch hier auf dem Unterricht im künstlerischen Hauptfach. Daneben stehen drei Profilschwerpunkte zur Auswahl: Orchester, Kammermusik und Vermittlung. Wie im Bachelor eröffnet auch im Master ein breites Wahlangebot die Möglichkeit, die eigenen künstlerischen Fähigkeiten weiter auszubauen und zu vertiefen.

Detaillierte Informationen zum Verlauf und zu den Inhalten des Studiums finden sich im Modulplan für Master Orchesterinstrumente

Wer in Düsseldorf Orchesterinstrumente studiert, profitiert von zahlreichen Auftrittsmöglichkeiten innerhalb und auch außerhalb der Hochschule. So spielen die Musikerinnen und Musiker zum Beispiel regelmäßig in Konzertreihen im Haus der Universität oder im Schumann Saal.

Das Sinfonieorchester der Hochschule tritt einmal im Jahr in der Düsseldorfer Tonhalle auf und wirkt bei den Produktionen der Opernklasse mit, die jährlich in Kooperation mit der Deutschen Oper am Rhein in der der Hochschule stattfinden. Schließlich bieten in jedem Semester die Tage der Kammermusik sowie die Lange Nacht der Neuen Musik Hochschul-Ensembles eine Bühne, um ihr Können zu präsentieren. 

Die Studierenden können am hochschulinternen Sieghardt-Rometsch-Wettbewerb teilnehmen, der jedes Jahr in den Kategorien Solo und Kammermusik stattfindet. Außerdem ist die Robert Schumann Hochschule Austragungsort des jährlich durchgeführten Internationalen Aeolus-Wettbewerbs, der sich an Holz- und Blechbläser richtet.

Lehrende

Fagott: Prof. Gustavo Nunez
Klarinette: Prof. Andreas Langenbuch
Oboe: Prof. Kai Frömbgen
Querflöte: Prof. Michael FaustProf. André SebaldProf. Evelin Degen
Posaune: Matthias Gromer 
Trompete: Prof. Peter Mönkediek
Saxophon: Martin Hilner
Horn: Prof. Joachim Poeltl
Tuba: Prof. Hans Nickel
Viola: Prof. Barbara Buntrock
Violine: Prof. Andrej Bielow, Prof. Andreas Krecher, Prof. Yamei Yu
Violoncello: Prof. Gregor Horsch, Prof. Pieter Wispelwey
Kontrabass: Prof. Rick Stotijn
Harfe: Fabiana Trani
Schlagzeug: Prof. Bert Flas


Eignungsprüfung

Wer Orchesterinstrumente als Master-Studium studieren möchte, muss eine Eignungsprüfung ablegen.

Sie besteht für den Master aus einer künstlerisch-musikalischen Prüfung. Die jeweiligen Anforderungen für die verschiedenen Instrumente finden sich hier:

Fagott: M. Mus.
Horn:  M. Mus.
Klarinette: M. Mus.
Oboe: M. Mus.
Posaune: M. Mus.
Querflöte: M. Mus.
Saxophon: M. Mus.
Trompete: M. Mus.
Tuba: M. Mus.
Viola: M. Mus.
Violine: M. Mus.
Violoncello: M. Mus.
Kontrabass: M. Mus.
Harfe: M. Mus.
Schlagzeug: M. Mus.


Deutschkenntnisse

Ausländische Bewerberinnen und Bewerber müssen über ausreichende Deutschkenntnisse verfügen. Nachgewiesen werden muss das Zertifikat B2 (nach Goethe-Institut) oder ein vergleichbarer Abschluss. Dies gilt auch für die Einschreibung in ein höheres Semester.
 
Studienbeginn und Bewerbungsfristen

Im Master Orchesterinstrumente ist ein Studienbeginn im Wintersemester und im Sommersemester möglich. Bewerbungsschluss ist der 15. März (für Studienbeginn im Wintersemester) und der 1. November (für Studienbeginn im Sommersemester). Es gilt jeweils der Eingangsstempel der Hochschule.

Bewerben

Die Bewerbungsunterlagen und das ausgefüllte Anmeldeformular werden an folgende Adresse geschickt:

Robert Schumann Hochschule Düsseldorf
Studierendensekretariat
Fischerstraße 110
40476 Düsseldorf

Welche Unterlagen im Einzelnen einzureichen sind, steht auf dem Anmeldeformular.

Weitere Informationen

Fragen zum Studium beantworten die Fachtutoren und das Studierendensekretariat

 

Robert Schumann Hochschule Düsseldorf Fischerstraße 110, 40476 Düsseldorf
Fon: +49.211.49 18 -0 Fax: +49.211.49 11 6 18 www.rsh-duesseldorf.de